Header Image
You are here: Canton, Michigan Public Safety Department About Public Safety Department Divisions
Public Safety Department Divisions

CANTON POLICE DEPARTMENT is made up of two divisions-- patrol and staff operations.  

Patrol Division
The Patrol Division, led by Deputy Chief Scott Hilden encompasses 85% of the department's police officers. Officers participate in a multitude of units designed to enhance community health and welfare.

Staff Operations Division
The Staff Operations Division, led by Deputy Chief Deb Newsome includes the detective bureau, ordinance enforcement unit, records bureau, property control, information technology, crime prevention/data analysis, and the accident investigation team. 

CANTON FIRE DEPARTMENTChief Meier  The Canton Fire Department is headed by Fire Chief Joshua Meier, with the assistance of Deputy Fire Chief Christopher Stoecklein. The Fire Department is divided into three main components - fire prevention, fire suppression, and emergency medical service.    
The Canton Emergency Management Division is responsible for providing a number of services to the community including emergency planning, operations center, public education campaigns, emergency public information, volunteer organizations and a township-wide early warning siren system.